If you can no longer reach or even find a friend on Facebook or Messenger, their account is either deactivated or they have blocked you. Some clues can give you the answer and know if you are banned ...
Has one of your contacts disappeared from your friends list on Facebook or Messenger? You no longer see his publications? You can no longer access his profile? Can't write to him anymore? There are only two explanations: either his account is deactivated, or he has blocked you, cutting short any relationship with you on the social network. Either way, Facebook won't tell you anything, leaving you in doubt. But there are a few tips to find the answer.
How do you know if you are blocked by a contact on Facebook?
Facebook never tells you when a contact removes you from their friend list or when they block you. But you can find out by crossing a few clues ...
- With your web browser, log into Facebook and click on your profile picture, right next to the What do you mean?
- Your profile page appears. In the left column, click All the friends, in the Friends section.
- Enter your friend's name in the Search field.
- If No results appear, your friend is no longer on your friends list. At this point, he may have simply removed you from his friend list. But he could also have deleted his own account or have been deactivated by Facebook.
- To continue your investigation, use the Facebook search engine. Enter your friend's name in the Search Facebook field, located at the top left of the Facebook page, just next to the F blue.
- The results page is displayed. If your friend's name is missing, their profile is no longer accessible to you. Again, his account may be deleted or disabled. In this case, ask mutual friends if they can see the profile of the "disappeared". If they can access it without a problem, there is no doubt: you have been blocked!
- If you don't want to ask for help in keeping a low profile, or if you don't have any mutual friends, use comments. Find a comment from your friend on a page or in a group.
- Click on the link Reply under his comment or directly on her name.
- If nothing happens, then no more doubt: this friend has blocked you!
How do you know if you are blocked by a contact on Messenger?
Like Facebook, Messenger doesn't clearly tell you if a contact has blocked you. Especially since, blocked or not, your conversations remain accessible. But several clues allow you to know if you are banned….
With the web version of Facebook
- With your web browser, log into your Facebook account.
- Go to the section dedicated to Messenger and start a chat with your friend. Enter a message in the reply field and press the key. Starter on your keyboard to send it.
- If a red dot appears next to your message, you can no longer write to your friend.
- To find out more, click on your friend's name in the messaging window, then on View Profile in the menu that appears.
- If you get an error message, your friend has blocked you. Indeed, if his account had been deactivated or deleted, Facebook would indicate "This person is not available on Messenger" and his profile picture would have disappeared.
With the Messenger mobile app
- Launch the Messenger app on your and open a chat with your friend.
- Enter a message and send it. If a window titled Failed to send appears, press OK.
- Then try to access your friend's profile by pressing the i button at the top right of the screen in the Android version or on her name, at the top of the screen in the iOS version.
- Then press the button Profile just under your friend's name.
- If an error message appears, you have been blocked by your friend. Indeed, if his account had been deactivated, you would not even be able to write to him. Facebook would then indicate "This person is not available on Messenger".
Summary On Facebook On Messenger Has one of your contacts disappeared from your friends list on Facebook or Messenger? You no longer see his publications? You can no longer access his profile? You no longer manage to ...