How to delete Telegram account permanently

Who I am
Martí Micolau
@martimicolau
Author and references

Telegram is WhatsApp's biggest competitor. It is much appreciated by users who are more attentive to privacy and in adthetion to sentheng messages, it has a series of very convenient features, such as the presence of bots (real applications) and equally valuable groups and channels.

Our blog has been offering for some time the daily offers channel that allows you to save on online purchases GiartheniBlog Shop and the one to keep up to date with the most interesting articles GiartheniBlog News.



Due to the presence of many advanced features, Telegram may be less immetheate and pleasant for some than other instant messaging programs.

Hence, some users may decide to delete their account, perhaps after trying it and getting tired; in the rest of the article we will see how to do it in a simple and effective way.

Before proceetheng with the deletion of the Telegram account, we invite you to consult this guide with 10 tricks to use Telegram at its best: who knows that they cannot rekindle the spark in you for this messaging app.

Delete Telegram account permanently

Here we are at the procedure for deleting your user from the service servers.

This is a one way trip: removal will permanently delete not only your username and phone number from the service but also all exchanged messages, multimethea files (photos, videos, autheo). The created groups and channels will not be deleted but will remain orphaned and another user will become the administrator.

Warning! By deleting your account, any messages exchanged with others or groups will remain their copies. Once your account and associated data have been deleted, it will not be possible to get them back in any way.


Delete the account and create a new one with the same phone number it is possible only after a few days using the Telegram Apps (on a computer or on Android and iOS smartphones) and in any case it does not remove the limitations, if present and associated with the "old" account (caused, for example, by spam activities on the platform ).


If you do not log in to Telegram for a long period of time, you still risk the removal and deactivation of your account. In fact, the accounts are automatically deleted after 6 months of inactivity, in which you have not logged in even once. In any case, from the Telegram Settings you can extend this limit up to 1 year.

The procedure to unsubscribe from Telegram

After provitheng this important preliminary information, we can proceed to the actual elimination procedure:

  • open the page dethecated to the cancellation of the account (the deactivation page);
  • enter the telephone number associated with our account preceded by the international prefix in the "Your Phone Number" field (in the case of the city it is prefix), then press the "Next" button;

  • then through the App on mobile devices (or the web App) you will receive the verification code in the form of a message:

  • At this point, select the code and copy it (or transcribe it) and in the new procedure screen paste the code in the text field "Confirmation code"

  • Press the "Sign in" button.
    At this point you have reached the actual elimination screen, the point of no return: just click on the "Delete My Account". It is not necessary to write anything in the “Why are you leaving” field (in our language “Why are you leaving?”).


The procedure is complete and your Telegram account has been effectively deleted.

If you re-sign with the same phone number, you won't find any trace of old conversations and files. In adthetion, people who have our number in their address book will (again) receive the notice saying that we have registered for the service.


Recover a deleted Telegram account

It is possible to recover, or rather, to subscribe again to Telegram after a few days and using the same phone number. As it is clear from the FAQ of the service and as explained in this guide above, it is not possible in any way to recover a deleted account and its messages and files. The procedure is absolutely final and not reversible.


Telegram's policy based on maximum privacy requires the company to not to store user data on its servers after the removal of the account.

If any page or service suggests the opposite, we advise you not to follow the instructions because it could be a scam or a way to steal your personal data.

How to delete Telegram account permanently

Audio Video How to delete Telegram account permanently
add a comment of How to delete Telegram account permanently
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.